Gateway Ventures

Stefano Gentili

Portfolio Manager
Always up for interesting conversations, open-minded and science driven. Stefano personally loves to have conversation with individuals about their journey, be it how they founded their start-up, or what drives them forward in their everyday life. Being raised in a multilingual environment, with mixed roots from different countries, there are no boundaries. Passionate about technology and science since a very young age, he defines himself as the geeky detail-oriented guy: power to the nerds! Taking on the role of Portfolio Manager at Gateway Ventures allows him to engage with incredible founders on a daily basis and interact with expert investors – value can be created and knowledge can be transferred – the perfect storm!
0
Start-ups analysed
0
Nationalities

Stefano's FAQs

What do you like most about your work?
The various insights from great individuals and upcoming technologies. When working in VC, it is like having the possibility of getting a glimpse into the future – what standards will be re-defined, and what challenges will be solved next – definitely an exciting part of the job!
What would you do if you’d not be working at Gateway Ventures?
Would be a professional chef in a modern restaurant or a food photographer travelling the world with my trusty camera and being hungry 24/7.
What advice would you give to your younger self?
I would tell my younger self to learn to discern between what really adds value in life, and what doesn’t – and pursue those things that have a positive contribution: books, novels, poems, art and philosophy – enrich yourself!

Stefano Gentili

Portfolio Manager
Stefano ist immer offen für interessante Gespräche, aufgeschlossen und wissenschaftsorientiert. Er liebt es, sich mit Menschen über ihren Weg zu unterhalten, sei es, wie sie ihr Start-up gegründet haben oder was sie in ihrem Alltag antreibt. Stefano ist mehrsprachigen aufgewachsen und hat Wurzeln in verschiedenen Ländern, für ihn gibt es keine Grenzen. Da er sich seit seiner Jugend für Technik und Wissenschaft begeistert, bezeichnet er sich selbst als einen detailorientierten Streber: Power to the Nerds! Als Portfoliomanager bei Gateway Ventures hat er die Möglichkeit, täglich mit innovativen Gründer:innen zusammenzuarbeiten und mit erfahrenen Investor:innen zu interagieren – so kann Mehrwert geschaffen und Wissen weitergegeben werden – der perfekte Mix!
0
Start-ups analysiert
0
Nationalitäten

Stefano's FAQs

Was gefällt dir am meisten an deiner Arbeit?
Die verschiedenen Einblicke von herausragenden Persönlichkeiten und aufkommenden Technologien. Bei der Arbeit in der VC-Branche hat man die Gelegenheit, einen Blick in die Zukunft zu werfen – welche Standards werden neu definiert und welche Herausforderungen werden als nächstes gelöst – definitiv ein spannender Teil des Jobs!
Was würdest du tun, wenn du nicht bei Gateway Ventures arbeiten würdest?
Ich wäre es ein professioneller Koch in einem modernen Restaurant oder ein Food-Blogger, der mit seiner Kamera um die Welt reist und rund um die Uhr hungrig ist.
What advice would you give to your younger self?
Ich würde meinem jüngeren Ich sagen, dass es lernen sollte, zwischen dem zu unterscheiden, was wirklich einen Mehrwert im Leben darstellt, was nicht – und sich mehr mit den Dingen zu beschäftigen, die einen positiven Beitrag leisten: Bücher, Romane, Gedichte, Kunst und Philosophie – bilde dich weiter!