Vitrealab
Vitrealab - Gateway Ventures

VitreaLab

Seed
DeepTech
Funded

Problem

Electronic displays are the biggest drain on the battery life of most mobile devices today. Current displays (Organic Light Emitting Diode (OLED) and LCD) suffer from:

low energy efficiency: only 1-2% (the rest is emitted as heat)
poor colour quality: with most LCD displays
lack of contrast: conventional LCD displays have low contrast
low brightness: crucial in sunlight

Solution

VitreaLab is developing next-generation laser-illuminated displays to revolutionise the display market and even enable holographic displays. The result is a novel LCD backlight technology with up to 5 times higher energy efficiency (80% reduction), greatly improved contrast, and reduced device thickness.

The main area of application is initially high-end smartphones, as these benefit particularly from the increased energy efficiency, higher brightness and improved colour spectrum. VitreaLab’s technology achieves a 60-250% increase in brightness while maintaining the same energy consumption. This ensures significantly better readability in sunlight.

 

Market

The total market for electronic displays is about $140 billion. LCDs are the leading technology with a share of about 80%. Backlighting accounts for about 20% of display costs. This results in a market size of about $22 billion for backlighting alone.

Team

Vitrealab Co-Managing Director Gateway Ventures
Vitrealab Co-Managing Director - Gateway Ventures

Dealcaptain

Our Dealcaptain is happy to answer further questions.

Judith Vogel

Gateway Ventures
Vitrealab - Gateway Ventures
Vitrealab - Gateway Ventures

VitreaLab

Seed
DeepTech
Funded

Problem

Elektronische Displays stellen heutzutage die größte Belastung für die Akkulaufzeit der meisten Mobilgeräte dar. Aktuelle Displays (Organic Light Emitting Diode (OLED) und LCD) leiden unter:

  • geringer Energieeffizienz: Lediglich 1-2% (der Rest wird als Wärme emittiert)
  • mangelhafter Farbqualität: Bei den meisten LCD-Displays
  • fehlendem Kontrast: Herkömmliche LCD-Displays sind kontrastarm
  • geringer Helligkeit: Entscheidend bei Sonnenlicht

Lösung

VitreaLab entwickelt Laser-beleuchtete Displays der nächsten Generation, um den Display-Markt zu revolutionieren und sogar holografische Displays zu ermöglichen. Das Ergebnis ist eine neuartige LCD-Backlight-Technologie mit einer bis zu 5-mal höheren Energieeffizienz (Reduktion um 80%), stark verbesserten Kontrast, und reduzierten Gerätedicke.

Der Hauptanwendungsbereich sind zunächst High-End-Smartphones, da diese besonders von der gesteigerten Energieeffizienz, höheren Helligkeit und verbesserten Farbspektrum profitieren. VitreaLabs Technologie erreicht eine Erhöhung der Helligkeit um 60-250% bei gleichbleibendem Energieverbrauch. Dies gewährleistet eine deutlich bessere Lesbarkeit bei Sonnenlicht.

Markt

Der gesamte Markt für elektronische Displays beträgt ca. $140 Mrd. Mit einem Anteil von rund 80% sind LCDs hierbei die führende Technologie. Etwa 20% der Displaykosten fällt auf die Hintergrundbeleuchtung zurück. Daraus ergibt sich eine Marktgröße von rund $22 Mrd. allein für Hintergrundbeleuchtung.

Team

Vitrealab Co-Managing Director - Gateway Ventures
Chiara Greganti

Managing Director

Vitrealab Co-Managing Director - Gateway Ventures
Jonas Zeuner

Managing Director

Dealcaptain

Unser Dealcaptain beantwortet gerne Ihre Fragen!

Judith Vogel