Florian Übelacker

Venture Partner
Florian is Head of M&A and Venturing at Salzburg AG. He used to be Chief Commercial Officer as part of the management team at primeCROWD and was responsible for strategy, growth, and monetization as well as corporate venturing. He has 7+ years of experience in private equity & venture capital in London as the former head of Tech, Media & Telecoms EMEA at GLG, where he was responsible for global due diligence & research projects for companies, funds, and investors. Additionally, he serves as a member of the advisory board at flemio and mentors at the Vienna Impact Hub. Privately, he is a business angel and advisor at Carployee. Florian holds master’s degrees from Vienna University for Business and Economics in business administration and business informatics.
0
years of experience in M&A, Private Equity and Venture Capital
0
structured investments with a total investment volume exceeding EUR 50 Mio.

Florian 's FAQs

Your advice to first-time investors?
Only invest if you can truly share the vision of a founder and the team. It also helps if you can see yourself going for a beer with them and have a meaningful time whilst doing so. Think portfolio and split your risk, particularly in the beginning. You need to have a long-term focus, start-up investments are not for short-term investors. Expect changes and that absolutely nothing goes as planned but hey, that’s the nature of the business. Not going according to plan doesn’t necessarily mean it’s not successful. Don’t focus on just top- and bottom-line. The best KPIs for growth might be entirely different.
Your advice to new founders?
First and foremost, stand up for and believe in yourself. If you think you are on to something big, don’t let anyone talk you out of it. Think big and find an outstanding team that has what it takes to embark on this laborious journey that is a start-up.
What do you like most about your work?
Simply having the opportunity to work on something entirely different and exploring new markets every day and getting know and working with motivated and visionary founders.

Gateway Ventures

Florian Übelacker

Venture Partner
Florian ist Head of M&A und Venturing bei Salzburg AG. Er war als Chief Commercial Officer selbst Teil des Management-Teams bei primeCROWD und verantwortlich für Strategie, Wachstum und Monetarisierung sowie für Corporate Venturing. Er verfügt über mehr als 7 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich Private Equity & Venture Capital in London als ehemaliger Leiter der Tech, Media & Telecoms EMEA bei GLG, wo er für globale Due Diligence & Forschungsprojekte für Unternehmen, Fonds und Investoren verantwortlich war. Darüber hinaus ist er Mitglied des Beirats von flemio und Mentor im Vienna Impact Hub. Privat ist er als Business Angel und Berater bei Carployee tätig. Florian hat einen Master-Abschluss der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien in Betriebswirtschaft und Wirtschaftsinformatik.
0
Jahre Erfahrung in M&A, Private Equity and Venture Capital
0
Investitionen mit einem Gesamtinvestitionsvolumen von über 50 Mio. EUR.

Florian 's FAQs

Dein Rat an First-Time Investoren?
Nur investieren, wenn man die Vision des Gründers und das Team wirklich teilen kann. Es hilft, wenn man sich vorstellen kann, zum Beispiel ein Bier mit dem Gründer zu trinken und dabei eine gute Zeit zu haben. An das Portfolio denken und das Risiko aufteilen, vor allem am Anfang. Man müssen langfristig denken, Start-up-Investitionen sind nichts für kurzfristige Investoren. Mit Veränderungen rechnen und damit, dass absolut nichts so läuft wie geplant, aber das liegt in der Natur des Geschäfts. Wenn es nicht nach Plan läuft, bedeutet das nicht unbedingt, dass es nicht erfolgreich ist. Nicht nur auf Umsatz und Gewinn konzentrieren. Die besten KPIs für Wachstum können ganz andere sein.
Dein Rat an Gründer?
Zu sich selbst stehen und an sich glauben. Wenn man daran glaubt, dass man etwas großes vorhat, dann darf man sich das nicht ausreden lassen. In großen Dimensionen denken und sich ein hervorragendes Team suchen, das das Zeug dazu hat, sich auf diese mühsame Reise zu begeben, die ein Start-up nun einmal ist.
Was gefällt dir am meisten an deiner Arbeit?
Einfach die Möglichkeit zu haben, an etwas völlig anderem zu arbeiten, jeden Tag neue Märkte zu erkunden und motivierte und visionäre Gründer kennenzulernen und mit ihnen zu arbeiten.